Fairfield County, Connecticut Free Public Records Directory

Find Public Records in Fairfield County, Connecticut

This page lists public record sources in Fairfield County, Connecticut. Additional resources can be found on our Connecticut State Public Records page, on city pages, and on topic pages using the navigation above.

Fairfield County, Connecticut - General County Info
Fairfield County, Connecticut Home Page

General information about Fairfield County

Population: 903,291
Area: 626 sq. miles
County Seat: Bridgeport
Area Code(s): 203 860
Time Zone: Eastern

Fairfield County, like all counties in Connecticut, has no government. County governments were abolished in 1960 and their functions transferred to state, city, and town agencies. Today, counties in Connecticut exist as geographic and statistical entities. Fairfield County was formed in 1666; today it is the most populous county in the state, with slightly over a quarter of Connecticut's population. Bridgeport, with 144,229 residents, is the most populous city in both the county and the state. Bordering counties in Connecticut include Litchfield County on the north and New Haven County on the east. The southern border is Long Island Sound, across which lie Nassau and Suffolk Counties in New York State. Fairfield County's western border is shared with the New York counties of Dutchess on the northwest, Putnam on the west, and Westchester on the southwest. Fairfield County includes five cities, one incorporated borough, and 18 towns. It boasts the 6th highest per capita income in the nation, thanks to the affluent "Gold Coast" communities along its Long Island Sound shores. Check out the categories below to find a multitude of public records and documents, including census information, inmate records, and police scanner activity. [1]


Fairfield County, Connecticut - Public Records Directory Links
Free Search
Free Search
Free Search
Free Search
Free Search